## **Biography**



**Dr Shiv Kumar Sarin**, MD, Director, Senior Professor and Head, Department of Hepatology, Institute of Liver and Biliary Science (ILBS), New Delhi.

Dr. Shiv Kumar Sarin obtained his MBBS degree with seven gold medals (1974), his MD in General Medicine (1978) from Rajasthan University, and his DM in Gastroenterology from the AIIMS in 1981. He moved to the G.B. Pant Hospital of Delhi University in 1983, becoming the Head of Gastroenterology in 1997. He is currently the Professor and Head, Department of Hepatology and Director, Institute of Liver and Biliary Sciences, New Delhi India.

Dr. Sarin is a Gastroenterologist, with special interest in Liver diseases. His main thrust has been on providing first rate clinical diagnosis and management to patients with liver diseases. His major research interests in Liver diseases. He has published over 300 original articles in International journals/National journals, Review, Editorials and Book Chapters. Due to his deep interest in basic science and research he was also appointed as Adjunct Professor in Molecular Medicine at the Jawaharlal Nehru University. Due to his vision and high quality of scientific work, Dr. S.K.Sarin and his department has been sanctioned the first Advanced Center for Liver Diseases in the Country. This is a tribute to his dedication and outstanding research potentials. He is a visionary and has developed a superb Institute of Liver and Biliary Sciences (ILBS), the first of its kind in Asia.

Dr. S.K.Sarin was nominated to lead the Medical council of India as the Chairman of the Board of Governors, 2010-2011. He along with his able team was able to develop a detailed vision document concerning the reforms in the undergraduate and post-graduate curriculum and in the examination pattern. These were published by the MCI as 'Vision 2015' document and was covered by The Lancet as a land mark change in the history of medical education in India. Dr. Sarin is the recipient of several awards, the important ones being: Dr. B.R. Ambedkar Centenary Award for Excellence in Biomedical Research – 2008" by the ICMR, Drs. Kunti & Om Prakash Oration Award (2004: Infectious Diseases) by the ICMR in 2007 and Eleventh Mahaveer Awards of the Bhagwan Mahaveer Foundation for excellence in human endeavor in the field of Education & Medicine (2008), Silver Jubilee Research Award of the Medical Council of India, 2005, Third World Academy of Sciences (TWAS) award in Medical Sciences, Egypt 2004, Dr. V.R. Khanolkar Oration by National Academy of Medical Sciences, 2004, 'Netaji Oration" of the Association of Physicians of India, the highest Oration Award, 2003, Nominated as a Fellow of the National Academy of Science (FNA), 2003, Gifted Teacher Award - Association of Physicians of India, 1999, Parke - Davis Oration Award Indian Society of Gastroenterology (ISG), 1999, Shanti Swaroop Bhatnagar award: highest award in Science in India:1996, Ranbaxy Research Science Award in Medical Sciences, 1994, Fogarty Fellowship of the National Institute of Health, USA, 1988, Japanese Research Science Award, 1986. He was also awarded the Padma Bhushan in 2007 for his overall seminal contributions to the Medical field in India.